Falsi Amici – False Friends

False friends (or false cognates) are words in one language which seem similar to words in another language but have a different meaning. There are many false friends between Italian and English – too many to list here – however I thought it would be fun to give you examples for as many letters of the alphabet as possible.

Here we go!

Screen Shot 2018-06-02 at 16.15.25

You’ve probably noticed that I wasn’t able to find a false friend for every letter of the alphabet (if you think I’ve missed something – comment and let me know!), but I hope that you find this list at least a little helpful.

As mentioned above, there are many more false friends that I haven’t looked at here, maybe another time!

 

Ciao!

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started